The Revised Total Coliform Rule- Level 1 & Level 2 Assessments

AEHA blog readers will recall a detailed article earlier this year on the new revised total coliform rule (RTCR) by DEC staff. Many AEHA members provide technical assistance providers to community water systems. If you’re anything like me, you are still trying to figure out the ins and outs of the RTCR. Recently, I’ve been trying to develop a better understanding of what triggers a Level 1 or 2 Assessment and what exactly these assessments entail. Here are the details.

Level 1 Assessment: Two or more total coliform positive samples in one month or failure to collect repeat samples after a total coliform positive sample will trigger a Level 1 Assessment. The Level 1 Assessment is completed by water system staff.

Level 2 Assessment: E. coli maximum contaminant level violations may trigger a Level 2 Assessment. The Level 2 Assessment must be completed by a state-approved inspector. If you are a sanitary surveyor, you may be approached by a water system with a request to complete a Level 2 Assessment.

If you still don’t have all of that memorized, I highly suggest bookmarking the DEC’s handy two-page factsheet created for systems serving 1,000 or fewer people.


Contributed by Jennifer Dobson, YKHC

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s