New Member Bios

Michael Vicente

Before moving to Alaska, Michael had an internship with the Indian Health Service in Aberdeen, South Dakota. He was stationed in the Great Plains Area Office, where he had the opportunity to travel to different Native American Reservations across four different states. Shortly after graduating from Illinois State University, he accepted a position as a Field Environmental Health Officer at the Yukon Kuskokwim Health Corporation. Since he arrived in Bethel he has been extracting sewage samples from the lagoons for the grey water project, traveling to villages by ice road for routine surveys, attempting to catch fish under the ice, and playing broomball.

Michael Vicente

Lizzy Buckingham

Hello AEHA! Let me introduce myself. My name is Lizzy Buckingham, and I moved to Bethel, Alaska in late June 2015. Originally from Crystal Lake, IL I moved to Bethel after I accepted a job working at the Yukon-Kuskokwim Health Corporation as a Field Environmental Health Officer. I received my Bachelor’s degree from the University of IL in Natural Resources and Environmental Sciences.  After an internship at the McHenry County Department of Health as a West Nile Health Inspector in 2014, I became more interested in Environmental Health. I am currently enrolled in an online MPH program in Environmental Health through the University of IL-Springfield.

In my first 6 months at YKHC, I have learned a lot traveling to many villages throughout the region and with YKHC’s greywater project. One of my favorite parts about my job is being able to interact with many different communities in the YK Delta. So far, my first Alaskan winter has been a lot of fun, especially going to see the Kuskokwim 300, and going ice fishing!

lizzy

Leave a Reply

